TW200 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
TW200 Forum

Forum for all TW200 Owners/enthusiasts

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Possible Noob here

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
pigdog

Possible Noob here Empty
PostSubject: Possible Noob here   Possible Noob here Empty9/29/2010, 7:39 pm

So I'm looking at a "gently used" 96 with only 375 miles on it.

Any suggestions as to what I should look for when I go see it?
Back to top Go down
Turtle Chaser

Turtle Chaser

Possible Noob here Empty
PostSubject: Re: Possible Noob here   Possible Noob here Empty9/29/2010, 9:16 pm

WOW, that is not even close to broken in. If it has been garaged could be a real gem. If it been outside could have alot of issues. @ 14 years old look at anything rubber or plastic for cracking or UV damage ect. Check for rust or corrosion and see if everything works, lights, horn, turn signals ect. I would be amazed if it had the original battery. Definitely get a test ride. Sounds like a sweet deal for the right price.

Good luck with it !

mac
Back to top Go down
Admiral
Admiral

Possible Noob here Empty
PostSubject: Re: Possible Noob here   Possible Noob here Empty9/30/2010, 7:50 am

About the only thing I can add to Turtle Chaser, is to follow-up on the rust and address possible fuel system problems.

Whether stored inside or outside, it would appear the TW hasn't been ridden much. And this is a plus for you.

Looking for rust in the gas tank is about the only visual inspection on the fuel system. Not a huge deal here, but it's also possible fuel has "varnished" in the rest of the fuel system, particularly the carburetor. Of course hearing it fire up and a good ride will indicate any fuel issues, which can be overcome rather easily.

If the price is right and in otherwise good condition, sounds good.